Little Loves 1/52

I meant to post this yesterday but we ended up spending most of our day on a lovely fresh walk with family in the nearby Forty Hall & Estate to blow the cobwebs away and it took a good hour or so for our fingers and toes to warm up again once we got home. A nice way to welcome the New Year however and seeing as we did the same last year, it seems to be developing into a lovely, healthy family tradition.

This week I’m joining in with Morgana from Coffee, Work, Sleep, Repeat and her weekly #LittleLoves link. Charlotte from Baking Betsy wrote some lovely posts using this link last year, take a look! The idea behind the posts is that they are a weekly oppurtunity to reflect on the little things you’ve loved that have made your week.

READ51jtAUskqkL._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_

One of my resolutions was to try and make time to read more and I have still to pick out the book I will start, however I suspect I will pick up where I left off with the No1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith. The last book of these I finished was most likely during my shorter than expected period of maternity leave before Archie arrived in January 2012 and so I hope to be picking up ‘Tea Time for the Traditionally Built’ this week. What I have managed to read is the BBC Good Food magazine from December (finally!) and have picked out quite a few new recipes that I would like to give a go this month such as this Peruvian chicken, avocado & quinoa salad (however i might omit the chicken for a vegetarian alternative). These minted pea, goat’s cheese & spinach wraps look like a good lunch idea and these chickpea & nut burgers with sweet potato chips a nice healthy family meal. And to satisfy our sweet cravings, these ginger cookie sandwiches look lush as do these gluten-free coconut cupcakes.

WATCHED

We haven’t managed to watch much this week (I certainly don’t count Polar Express, Despicable Me 1 & 2 and the Minion movie as viewing pleasure), however I did manage a quiet hour to watch the Christmas special of Call the Midwife and I am looking forward to the series return this month. I love sitting down on a Sunday night to this.

HEARD

Archie has been making me laugh a lot this past week and I want to make more of an effort to write down something funny that he says as I soon forget! He is currently obsessed with maps and where we are on the maps in relation to trains or train stations in general. So hopefully I will have some Archie quotes to add to this section next week. Other than this I bought Adele’s new album pre-Christmas and have been listening to that lately. Her voice is beautiful.

MADE

I am not particularly crafty or creative by any stretch of the imagination, however I do enjoy cooking and I hope to be able to add some of the aforementioned recipes to this section next week. However, Reuben has been very hands-on in creating Lego constructions this week with Archie whether that has been trains, houses, ships or a ‘2016’ sign made out of Lego!

WORE

I hit the NEXT sale on Boxing Day and managed to snap up lots of bargains for Archie, not one thing for myself. Buying boys clothes is not always as much fun as for girls but I do love some of the t-shirts from there, cute slogans and their trousers are nice too. Not just jeans or joggies. I really wanted to get a new bag for myself in the sales but held back. However, pre-Christmas I did find these eco-friendly, reusable shopping bags in our local department store, Pearsons. I was originally given one as a birthday present and loved it, I even made my friend bring me another one down to London when she visited in December and then I found them!

 

Leave a Reply

